​​​The Physics department at Stellenbosch University is research orientated, with undergraduate and Honours​ courses geared at producing quality post-graduate students.  An active and vibrant researcher cohort ensures that the SU Physics department has established itself as one of the best research focused Physics departments in the country.  Research at the department can be broadly divided into three groups: Nuclear Physics, Theoretical Physics (Institute for Theoretical Physics) and Laser Physics (Laser Research Institute).  The large number of quality publications forthcoming from the department plays testimony to the quality of research being performed.


The Laser Research Institute focusses on laser-related research and development in Southern Africa. The group boasts excellent laser facilities, world-class research projects, and a vibrant combination of students, lecturers and other staff members. These factors combine to generate a unique and hig​hly successful research environment.


The Institute of Theoretical Physics (originally named Institute of Theoretical Nuclear Physics) was founded in 1984 with the support of the Nuclear Development Corporation of South Africa. The fundamental objectives of the Institute are to undertake research projects in theoretical physics, to assist in the education of graduate students and to provide a centre for the development and co-ordination of activities in theoretical physics in the Physics Department and elsewhere.


Radiation and Health